Restricting access to your video

If you do not want your service provider or Genetec™ personnel to view your cameras or export video, you can restrict access to your Stratocast™ portal and then re-establish access when you need technical support.

Video: click_to_hide_video

Watch this video to learn more. Click the Captions icon (CC) to turn on video captions in one of the available languages. If using Internet Explorer, the video might not display. To fix this, open the Compatibility View Settings and clear Display intranet sites in Compatibility View.

Text: Click to hide text

What you should know

Only the client administrator has the required privileges to restrict access to your portal. Once set, your service provider cannot access your Stratocast™ portal from either their web client or their Stratocast™ mobile apps.

To restrict access to your video:

  1. Click Configurations () and then click the Privacy tab.
  2. Clear the Allow my service provider and Genetec™ to access my portal check box. By default, this check box is selected, and therefore, access to your portal is open when your client account is created.
    Once cleared, your service provider and Genetec™ personnel cannot access your portal. If they are already inside your portal at the time you enabled privacy, access to all web pages (except for the support and online help pages) is immediately restricted.
  3. To re-establish access, select the Allow my service provider and Genetec™ to access my portal check box.
    Access to your Stratocast™ portal is immediately re-established. Users that are accessing your portal from their Stratocast™ mobile apps must refresh the client page of their app.
IMPORTANT: Enabling privacy restricts others from accessing your portal only for the duration that the privacy setting is in effect. When access is granted again, video that was recorded during the restriction period can be viewed by your service provider and Genetec™ personnel.